Posted by: sweetpaint | May 7, 2009

Work from the BCA

"The Rain"

"The Rain"

“Two Views” series was one that didn’t quite reach the point I expected it to. The idea behind the series was to more or less take the indoor and outdoor environments I found in Ballyvaughan and take them out of context, representing a kind of displacement. In the end, I began to feel that the concept was getting lost in the composition. The interesting thing about that was during our numerous critiques, I was working harder and longer on this series, while in the background (in my spare time) working on the “Cemetery” series. According to my peers, the latter was much more successful then the one I was working so hard at. Funny how that turns out, right?

“The Rain” was a very large piece originally meant to go along with the “Views” series, but ended up in a completely different direction. Working in my studio at this college, I would constantly hear the rain pattering on the skylight above me; it turned into the inspiration for this piece. What I thought was particularly successful was the atmosphere or mood that I was able to capture here, using those subdued tones.

"Loss," Cemetery series

"Loss," Cemetery series

"Remembering," Cemetery series

"Remembering," Cemetery series


Leave a comment

Categories