Posted by: sweetpaint | May 2, 2009

A Look Back (to Look Forward)

Matthew

Matthew

I thought it would be a good idea to start with a post here of some of the work here as an undergrad. All of these thumbnails are from the past two years, and the above, “Matthew” is one from a series I worked on while studying at the Burren College of Art in Ballyvaughan, Ireland. The “Exercises in Color” series was one that more or less followed a predecessor, the smaller portrait piece using tones of yellow and violet. Unfortunately this series didn’t make it back to the states in one… uh… series, and all in all wasn’t quite up to par. Still, I think it’s good to set it up here as it may be something I’ll have a mind to go back to in the future. I love pallete knife painting, especially with portraiture, building up layers of paint — it’s almost akin to sculpture on a canvas (though these were done on wood panel, my new favorite painting surface) and it’s wonderful to feel the texture that develops. In this way, the face becomes a landscape.


Leave a comment

Categories